Let’s Recap 2014!

This year, my goal was to read 20 books. It seemed reasonable, but I thought with a heavy school load that I should make my goal achievable. I seemed to have underestimated my reading ability, because I was able to achieve my goal within the first quarter of the year.

It was time to set a new goal, and this time there was no fooling around. I was determined to push myself and my reading abilities further! I set my new goal to 40 books, including the books I had already read. This took me about the same about of time, and once again I needed a new goal or to top up the goal I already had.

At this point it was around August, and the start of school was just around the corner, so once again I was determined to read, and set a new goal with one key factor in mind. Being reasonable. This time I figured I would be able to read approximately 2 books per month on top of a heavy school load. That makes a total of 8 more book on the 40 books I had already read, bringing my new goal to 48 books.

This year, I was able to read 43 books. A little short of my goal, but much better than last year! Which if I remember correctly was around 30 books.

I would still call this a success, and I intend on setting my goal for this year (2015) at 50 books again.
And here they are in no particular order.

Books of 2014:

  • The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls
  • Light Between the Oceans by M.L Stedman
  • Triathlon 101 by John Mora
  • The Girls by Lori Lansen
  • The Edible Woman by Margaret Atwood
  • Death of a Salesman by Arthur Miller
  • Macbeth by William Shakespeare
  • If I Stay by Gayle Forman, (I have yet to read the sequel!)
  • The Maze Runner by James Dashner
  • The Scorch Trials by James Dashner
  • The Death Cure by James Dashner
  • The Kill Order by James Dashner
  • Life of Pi by Yann Martel
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • The Duff by Kody Keplinger
  • Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
  • The Fault in our Stars by John Green
  • The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  • Before I go to sleep by S.J. Watson
  • At First Sight by Nicolas Sparks
  • Bone chiller by Graham Mcnamee
  • Skellig by David Almond
  • The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold
  • The Dogs of Riga by Henning Mankell
  • Code to Zero by Ken Follett
  • Variant by Robinson Wells
  • Feedback by Robinson Wells
  • Vanishing Act by Jodi Picoult
  • What happened to goodbye by Sarah Dessen
  • The Cuckoos Calling by Robert Galbraith
  • Twenties girl by Sophie Kinsella
  • No Second Chance by Harlan Coben
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini
  • Still Alice by Lisa Genova
  • Le Petit Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
  • Fish Change Direction in Cold Water by Pierre Szalowski
  • Dreamland by Sarah Dessen
  • The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood
  • Bossypants by Tina fey
  • My ideal bookshelf Edited by Thessaly La Force
  • Burial Rites by Hannah Kent
  • Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult
  • Macbeth: the graphic novel by No Fear Shakespeare

What books did you read this year? Anything that really stood out for you? If so, leave a comment below! I would love to hear what you read in 2014. Stay tuned for what I plan on reading this year (2015).

Until next time,

Emma

2 thoughts on “Let’s Recap 2014!

  1. Congrats on reading this great list of books, Emma. I saw your review in the Financial Post too. Well done. You covered a wide range of books. I just loved Bossypants by Tina Fey. She is one of the best storytellers, and she’s hilarious. I loved the way she shared experiences from her childhood and her career as a famous comedian and writer, giving equal weight to both, and showing us that you keep learning no matter how old you are. Can’t wait to hear about your new books for 2015.

    Like

    • Thank you Shirlie. Bossypants was an entertaining book, and much different than I thought it would be. Tina Fey has accomplished quite a bit in a industry that is mainly, or was mainly composed of men. It’s great that she was able to pave the way for female comedians. My reading goals for 2015 will be up soon. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

