March Monthly Wrap-up & Classic Challenge Update

In March I read some great novels and I even branched out and read stories that were displayed in an original way.

Without further ado, let’s get into the wrap-up!

March Wrap-up

I started the month with a type of novel that I had not read before.

The Kite Runner

1. The Kite Runner (graphic novel) by Khaled Hosseini

Two years ago I read The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, and while browsing the shelves of the library last month, I came across The Kite Runner in graphic novel form (illustrated by Fabio Celoni & Mirka Andolfo).

I hadn’t read a graphic novel before, and personally I really enjoyed it. The colours and images were vibrant and the story was quick and easy to read though. This was such an interesting experience because I had already read this novel, and yet here I was reading it again in a different format that was able to portray the same story as the one I had read previously.

The kite runner inside look

The Kite Runner follows a boy named Amir who is well off and lives in a town called Kabul in Afghanistan. Amir and his father Baba have people that help around the house, and one of these helpers’ son is good friends with Amir. They do everything together. Hassan would do anything to protect Amir and Amir is always telling Hassan about the latest stories he has written. Everything seems to be going well until one day a terrible incident occurs and Amir can no longer face being in the same room as Hassan. Amir goes as far as telling his father that they should replace Hassan and his father for new helpers. What went wrong? Years later Amir is now living in the United States remembers the terrible circumstance that happened and feels he has to set the story straight. Amir tells his wife that he must return to Afghanistan and make up for what he did all those years ago.

This is a story about young boys growing up in Afghanistan surrounded by warfare and the injustices of the world. This story is one that will stick with you for a long time.

Rating: Five tea mugs, a must read novel!

tea cup 2tea cup 2tea cup 2tea cup 2tea cup 2

Screenshot_2015-03-29-15-37-49

2. Moby Dick (graphic novel) by Herman Melville

The second “novel” I read this month was Moby Dick by Herman Melville (illustrated by Lalit Kumar). The reason I have italics around the word novel, is because I also read Moby Dick in graphic novel form just as I read The Kite Runner in graphic novel form. I have yet to read the novel form of Moby Dick, but I enjoy reading the graphic novel because it gave me a shortened sense of the story and made me what to read the extended novel version now that I know what the story is about.

Moby Dick is the story about a man named Ishmael who signs up to be a sailor for a whaling adventure. While signing up for his excursion, Ishmael runs into a man named Queequeg who is also looking to be a harpooner on a whaling ship. These men become fast friends and end up signing up to be on the same ship named the Pequod. Once aboard Ishamel and Queequeg are introduced to the crew, and captain Ahabs. The captain was interested in hunting all types of whales (as this was a whaling ship), but captain Ahabs was searching for one whale in particular named Moby Dick. This was the whale that bit off captain Ahabs leg, leaving him with only one leg.

Overall, I enjoyed this graphic novel, but at times the story got confusing due to the shortened length of the graphic novel. In order to get the full picture, I will need to read the full story of Moby Dick, which I plan on doing soon, hopefully!

Rating: This graphic novel was a good introduction to the story of Moby Dick, but it was confusing at times due to the lack of character description, and details of the plot.

tea cup 2tea cup 2tea cup 2

Screenshot_2015-03-29-15-38-18

3. Half Brother by Holly LeCraw

The third novel I read this month was Half Brother by Holly LeCraw. This novel is about a controversial relationship and people knowing far more than they should. This story is set at a boarding school in Abbottsford. This book focuses on secrets, lies, and memories that are better kept in the past. Soon the real story will unravel and the truth will inevitably be revealed. This family suspense novel is original, well thought out, and overall will leave you wanting more. Holly LeCraw author of The Swimming Pool has done it again, this novel is great!

Rating: Four tea mugs, a great read.

tea cup 2tea cup 2tea cup 2tea cup 2

Screenshot_2015-03-29-15-38-40

4. Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell

The fourth novel I read this month was Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell. This novel was a different read for me because it is a non-fiction novel, and I mainly read fiction novels. Personally I find fiction novels more engaging, but Malcolm Gladwell has completely made me rethink non-fiction novels. This novel was captivating, fascinating, informational, and of course it was all true! I could not put this novel down. It is not dry in any way shape or form. I would highly recommend this novel to anyone out there. In Outliers, Malcolm Gladwell is able to show the correlation between Bill Gates and the Beatles. He is able to explain the reason behind why people from Asian descent are more apt at acing a math test, and lastly Malcolm Gladwell explains the stigma around IQ’s and why your number isn’t necessarily as important as you think. These are just a few examples of the intriguing thoughts in this novel.

Rating: Five out of five tea mugs, a must read novel!

tea cup 2tea cup 2tea cup 2tea cup 2tea cup 2

The magician's nephew

5. The Magicians Nephew by C.S. Lewis

This is the fifth and final novel I read this month, and you might be wondering what happened to Wuthering Heights which was supposed to be my Classic Challenge novel of the month, but I’m going to be honest and say it took me and is still taking me longer than expected to finish it. That doesn’t mean that I’m not enjoying the novel, it simply means that it is a slower read for me.

In order to stay on take with my Classic Challenge Goal, I decided to change it up this month and read The Magicians Nephew by C.S. Lewis. This novel is the first in the Chronicle’s of Narnia series. This story follows two main characters; Polly and Digory who meet in the garden outside Polly house, and quickly become fast friends. Digory suggests that they go exploring in the old house that is attached to their own through a secret tunnel. When Polly and Digory get to what they think is the enterance of the old house, they open the door and cross the landing between the tunnel and the room. Unexpectedly, Polly and Digory run into Digory’s uncle Andrew. Digory realizes their mistake. They have not gone far enough and are in Digory’s house instead of the house they are trying to explore. Uncle Andrew entices the children to try on a ring that he has in his office. Digory doesn’t take the bate, but Polly goes straight for the ring. She picks up the ring to put it on and whoosh Polly is gone. Where oh where has Polly gone?

This novel was a quick read, but a read that I enjoyed none the less. I am excited to continue on with the rest of the series.

Rating: Four tea mugs out of five, a lovely story.

tea cup 2tea cup 2tea cup 2tea cup 2

I hope you enjoyed this post. If you have any Classic Challenge recommendations leave them in the comments. If you did enjoy this post, feel free to share it with a friend.

Until Next time,

Emma

4 thoughts on “March Monthly Wrap-up & Classic Challenge Update

  1. Pingback: April Wrap Up and Classic Challenge Update | fictiondepictions

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Ups | fictiondepictions

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap Up | fictiondepictions

  4. Pingback: 50 Book Challenge & How Many Books I’ve Read Thus Far | fictiondepictions

Leave a Reply

