Review: The Knockoff by Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza

Novel: The Knockoff

Author: Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza

Published: May 19th, 2015

The Knockoff by

This novel was generously sent to me for review from Penguin Random House.

Synopsis

This novel follows the story of a fashion editor named Imogen Tate of Glossy magazine. After taking a leave of absence, Imogen returns to find her prize and possession (a.k.a her magazine) has been turned into an app. Imogen is shocked that her boss would allow her former assistant to turn the magazine she has worked on for years into an app. Furthermore, Eve prides herself on her technological abilities, where as Imogen can barely turn on the TV.  Imogen is forced to chose between working at Glossy and her barely recognizable magazine, or quit and try to make a name for herself somewhere else.

Discussion

Who was my favourite character and why?

I would have to say that Ashley was my favourite character because despite always being nice to Eve (even when she did not deserve it), she was able to help Imogen cope with the challenges Eve threw Imogen’s way.

Were the characters relatable and/or believable?

Unfortunately, I could not relate to the main character Imogen. She was an editor and chief for starters, but I felt like her personality lacked a back story or any real depth. I couldn’t relate to her as a character and at times found myself not caring what the outcome of her problems were.

Did the story keep you on the edge of your seat?

I found this novel quite predictable. Eve was the classic mean girl, and there were quite a few evil tricks that I saw coming long before they happened.

Recommendation

If you enjoyed this novel, I would recommend The Devil Wears Prada, it is a very similar story that goes into more depth about the fashion world and industry.

Review

Overall, this was not my favourite novel to read. I did not feel like I could connect all that well with the main character, and the plot was lacking a story line. By the end of the novel I was losing interest and could not sympathize with our main character Imogen. I would give this novel 2 out of 5 tea mugs.

tea cup 2tea cup 2

If you enjoyed this post feel free to share it with a friend. Also, leave a comment about a book you have recently read and loved!

Until next time,

Emma

2 thoughts on “Review: The Knockoff by Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza

  1. Pingback: May & June Wrap Up, and Classics Challenge Update! | fictiondepictions

  2. Pingback: 50 Book Challenge & How Many Books I’ve Read Thus Far | fictiondepictions

Leave a Reply

