Review| Bug In A Vacuum by Mélanie Watt

Title: Bug In a Vacuum

Author: Mélanie Watt

Published: August 25th, 2015

Bug In A Vacuum

Synopsis:

Bug In A Vacuum follows a bug as he buzzes through a house, on an adventure. Everything seems to be going perfectly in this little guys world until a daunting machine sucks him up, and traps him leaving him in captivity.

It wasn’t any old machine either, it was the evil vacuum cleaner that swept this tiny bug off its feet, leaving him in a state of distress. What is this poor little bug to do?

Check out the book trailer below!

Discussion

Who was my favourite character and why?

Although there were few character’s in this picture book, I enjoyed all of them. If I had to choose a favourite character, I would choose our main character- Mr. Bug (that’s not actually his name, I just made that up..). He was a cheerful guy until he got trapped in a vacuum of course, but who can blame him?

Were the characters relatable and/or believable?

Since this was a children’s book, and most of the main character’s were animals, I would say that they were a little bit difficult to relate to, but that’s not to say that they weren’t hilarious.

Did the story keep you on the edge of your seat?

This little fly kept running into a number of obstacles that kept him from enjoying his two most favourite spots in the world; one being the window sill. It was interesting to see how he used the 5 stages of grief to resolve his problems, and teach kids a pretty good life lesson.

Something I would change about the novel?

I honestly enjoyed this picture book, and the beautiful pictures that went along with it. That being said, I wouldn’t change anything about this book. The story and the beautiful illustrations flow together perfectly, and the writing is humorous, which is always good in my book (no pun intended). Mélanie Watt is a great children’s book author!

Review:

Mélanie Watt has done it again! First with Scaredy Squirrel and now with Bug In A Vacuum. I cannot wait to see what she comes out with next.

Overall, I would give this novel 4 out of 5 tea mugs.

tea cup 2tea cup 2tea cup 2tea cup 2

Until next time,

Emma

I would love to hear your feedback! Let me know what you thought in the comments. Stay tuned for next week’s post (I upload a new post every other Thursday)!

P.S. Check out Fiction Depictions’ Facebook page, and give it a like!

One thought on “Review| Bug In A Vacuum by Mélanie Watt

  1. Pingback: 50 Book Challenge & How Many Books I’ve Read Thus Far | fictiondepictions

Leave a Reply

