Review| Cracked by Barbra Leslie

Title: Cracked

Author: Barbra Leslie

Published: Nov. 24th, 2015

IMG_0129 (2)

Cracked by Barbra Leslie

This week on the blog, we have a special guest to review Barbra Leslie’s latest novel Cracked.  Cracked was release this month, and is loosely based on Barbra Leslie’s real life experiences and her struggles with drugs as a method of coping. This week’s special guest was one of the first people that led me to love reading, and has encouraged me to become the avid reader I am today. My mom, Marlene will be sharing her thoughts on Barbra Leslie’s latest novel Cracked below. I hope you enjoy!

Until next time,

Emma

Synopsis:

Cracked is a fascinating story about Danny Cleary who has a twin sister named Ginger or had…When Ginger is found murdered, Danny and her brother go on a quest to find the killer of their beloved sister. Danny has not been living a very clean and productive life recently so it takes all her gumption to get on a plane and go to California in search of her sister’s killer. Her drugged crazed life seems to follow her to California and haunts her as she tries to solve this murder mystery.

She is sought with kidnappings, drug overdose, missing persons – you name it all the while trying to find her sister – dead or alive.

She tries to befriend anyone who can tell her about her sister’s last days which puts herself and her family further at risk. But Danny is use to taking risks and will stop any nothing to find the killer of her twin. As Danny struggles to solve this mystery she is also forced to come to terms with her own life and the lifestyle that she has presently chosen to live.

This is a story that will keep you on the edge of your seat while you root for Danny to solve this terrible crime and hopefully get her life back on track.

Discussion

Who was my favourite character and why?

Danny is for sure my favourite character. Though I could not really relate to her drug crazed life, she was determined, resourceful and quite humorous at times when she found herself in a bind. It didn’t seem to matter what road blocks were put in her path, she found a way around them. She was clever enough to get people to do things for her that really allowed her to carry on with the journey of finding her sister’s killer.

Were the characters relatable and/or believable?

I thought the characters were believable in this book. Danny was depicted so well that despite not knowing someone who was a druggie, she seemed very real. You could see how she might fall of the rails and become this person. Darren, her brother also seemed very real.  You could see how his character is believable as he tried to help Danny find their sister’s killer. It was hard to know what to think of Fred, Ginger’s husband who was under suspicion for the murder of his wife. Fred was not very forthcoming initially so it was difficult to trust him or his motives.  Detective Miller was an interesting character. He really crossed the line in befriending Danny. It made you wonder what his motives were.  Then there were Dave and Dom, two rather low life drinking buddies that really got a run for their money when Danny entered the bar they were in one night.

Did the story keep you on the edge of your seat?

Did it? This was one of the most riveting books I have read in a long time. The author had me hooked on the first page. I really enjoy murder mysteries so I was excited to start this book and didn’t want to put it down. Barbra’s writing style is very captivating, funny and her vivid descriptions really draw you in.

Something I would change about the novel?

I don’t think I would change anything. I was impressed with the writing style, the detailed descriptions and eager to see where Barbra was taking us throughout this journey.

Review:

Overall, I would give this novel 4.5 out of 5 tea mugs.

tea cup 2tea cup 2tea cup 2tea cup 2half mug

Until next time,

Marlene

p.s. I was honoured to be asked by my daughter Emma to write a guest blog. I really enjoy reading her blog and am happy to contribute!

~-~

A big thank you to my mom for writing this post, I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did. Be sure to let me know in the comment below who inspired you to first start of reading.

Make sure to click the follow button to the right to receive the latest posts by email. –>

Until next time,

Emma

Leave a Reply

