May TBR Pile

May TBR Pile.png

Hey everyone, I am back! Long time not post, but I am hoping you won’t hold it against me.

Today I am here to share my May TBR pile with you all! I am hoping to catch up on some reading, since I have been in a slight reading slump with exams having just finished. A few of these books were sent to me by Penguin Random House for review, and a few of them are books I have been wanting to read for ages. I am excited to get reading again, so lets get started!

My TBR Pile:

1.The Productivity Project by Chris Bailey

→ is a non-fiction novel following the life of Chris Bailey (the author) and his year long journey on becoming more productive. Not only does he conduct experiments on himself, remove sugar from his diet and focuses on becoming a morning person (which spoiler alert did not work), but he is able to share the results of his experiments and we the readers get to benefit from the rewards of his hard work

2. Twenty Questions for Gloria by Martyn Bedford

→Gloria is a normal teenage girl that goes to school and does as she’s told, but her life is simple, boring even. At least that’s the case until the new boy shows up and is ready to break every single rule in school. Gloria aspires to be as confident and daring as Urman (the new boy), but soon she discovers that Urman isn’t everything she had thought he was… As the cover of the novel states; “Two went on the run, one came back“.

3. 13 Ways of Looking at a Fat Girl by Mona Awad

→ This novel deals with the difficult topic of body image, and what society deams the “perfect figure”. In this fictional novel, the main character Lizzie is ashamed of her body and decided to start dating online. She comes to the realization that in order to meet her date in real life she would have to change her appearance. So she does. She becomes calorie obsessed and tracks everything that she puts into her mouth. But does being thin make her happy? That is a question only Lizzie can answer.

4. Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld

→A modern take on the famous Pride and Prejudice novel by Jane Austin! What more do you need?!

5. The Widow by Fiona Barton

→ The police started asking Jean Taylor questions when a little girl goes missing. After spending years being the perfect wife, Jean is done keeping secrets. Since her husbands passing, Jean is ready to share his secrets that she has been holding onto for so long. She is ready to tell her side of the story.

6. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

→ A classic that I can’t wait to dive into. I have heard great things and I’m excited to cross it off my TBR pile.

And that is it for my May TBR pile! Let me know what you plan on reading this month. I would love to know!

Until next time,

Emma

P.S. Don’t forget to follow this blog to get notified when all the latest posts are released! And why not, it’s free. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “May TBR Pile

  1. Looks like you have a lovely mix of genres to browse through this month! I hope you enjoy them all. I have never read any of the Bronte’s work – I have to change that soon and get Jane Eyre or Wuthering Heights.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

